Young Artists Competition Winners 2024

View Winning Essays, Videos HERE - Guild Members Only

The Symphony Guild of Charlotte gives a standing ovation to the
2024 Young Artists Competition Winners!

Grand Prize Winner Advanced Level: Sayuki Peterman, violin
Grand Prize Winner Intermediate Level: Clark Fan, cello

Honorable Mentions Advanced Level/Open Division: Sarah Major and Shirley Tian, piano
Honorable Mention Advanced Level-Orchestral Instruments Division: Melissa Wescott, cello
Honorable Mention Intermediate Level/Both Divisions: Chulin Tang, piano
Essay Competition Advanced Level: Melissa Wescott
Essay Competition Intermediated Level: Clark Fan

*Click HERE to read the winning essays and view the winners' original video performances.
(Guild members only)

This year's competition featured excellent performances by finalists:
Darcy Byrd, Clark Fan, Ethan He, Ellie Kim, Sarah Major, Nikhil Perego, Sayuki Peterman,
Cadence Shevy, Chulin Tang, Shirley Tian, Emunah Wang, Melissa Wescott

Others Selected: Zinan Yan, Alternate-Advanced and Isaac Okhotin, Finalist-Intermediate (unable to participate).

Congratulations to all!

Be sure to view our Photo Gallery capturing the 2024 Young Artists Competition.

A very special thank you to our panel of adjudicators:
Dr. Jungho Kim (UNC-Greensboro), Matthew Thomas Troy (Western Piedmont Symphony), and
Christopher James Lees, Resident Conductor Charlotte Symphony

Special thanks also to the parents, teachers, accompanists et al supporting these
wonderful young musicians, and to Christ Lutheran Church for hosting us.

We look forward to the 2025 Competition. Look for details and application information in late spring.

The 2024 Young Artists Competition Committee and Volunteers
Wendy Azrak, Linda Borders, Aram Kim Bryan*, Ellen Caldwell, Julia Church,
Robin Cochran, Carol Follmer, Kinsey Fournier,
Angela Helms, Sophie Helms, Karen Oldham, Susan Ramsey,
Mark Rockwood*, Brienne Tinder, Betty Seifert, Cindy Turner, Paul Turner, Jenny Tolson, Jin Wang, Linda Weisbruch
and Christopher James Lees, special advisor

*Charlotte Symphony Orchestra